January Minutes 2013

Staff Advisory Council Minutes

Thursday, January 10, 2013 1:00 p.m.

LaFortune Student Center


Present:               Patty Smith, Joe Negri, , Kathy Seymour, La Minda Wilson, Alan Seidler, Marie Revak,  Tami Springer, Rachel Jones,  Jody Klontz, Jan Solkey, Kathy Troth, Fred Sonneborn, Kim Miller, Michele Tharp,  Amanda Huerta, Robyn Karkiewicz, Lee Purdy, Elaine Brown


Excused:              Kameron Riddle

Unexcused:        Char-anna Koblick, James Stevens, Carolyn Brooks


I.                Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:05 p.m. by Patty Smith.   Patty welcomed new members:  Rachel Jones, Elaine Bloom, Lee Purdy and Robyn Karkiewicz.  SAC thanked outgoing members Melanie Brewer, Sandy Sarber, Janice Tabb and Jean Rinehart.


December minutes were reviewed – Kathy Troth made a motion to approve with a second by Kathy Seymour

II.            Committee Updates and description of assignment for new members:

Benefits Committee
Nothing to report

Parking Appeals
A meeting was held in December and 25 appeals were heard.

Ad Hoc Parking  
Nothing to report

Promotions Committee
The book drive for Robinson Center and El Campito will probably commence in March with emails/flyers being distributed on campus. 

The Harvest House Food Drive is January 28-February 15.

Elections Committee
Elections are not complete yet.  There are new representatives for districts, 1, 5, 11 & 15. 3, 13, 17 & 21 are still in process. #23 will be vacant.

Webpage Committee

SAC website will be updated with the new roster.


Nothing to report.

Compassion Fund
2 requests were submitted and funded.


III.           New Business

                John Affleck-Graves, Executive VP, was the guest speaker.  Dr. Affleck-Graves thanked SAC for the opportunity to be with them, gave a brief facilities update and also commended the staff of the Morris Inn for their flexibility in moving to new positions during the renovation.  Dr. Affleck Graves then took questions on a variety of topics including, health care/insurance, ND football, tuition for staff, and the early retirement incentive program. 


IV.          Additional Business

                Introductions of new members.



V.            Motion to adjourn at 2:40 p.m.  1st- Joe Negri and a 2nd by LaMinda Wilson