June 26 (Special Meeting)

Staff Advisory Council Minutes
Special Meeting
Thursday, June 26, 1997
LaFortune Student Center - Notre Dame Room
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Present: Rhonda Barkley, Sue Baum-Lentine, Jan Blazi, Rachel Boyd, Dan Brazo, Phyllis Campbell, Tammy Chapman, Victoria Cotton, Debbie Fox, Rita Grontkowski, Chuck Klein, JoAnn Longenecker, Don Newsom, Sue Penrod, Tracie Santicola, Jennifer Schafer, Diane Schlatterbeck, Fred Sonneborn, Amy Tremel, Scott Uekert, and Barbara Wiggins.

Absent: Larry Born, Pat Dillman, Ron Dokes, Julie Ferraro, Toby Green, Pam Jobin, Norma Mezykowski, Pat Trost, and Deanna Zukowski.

Dan Brazo, Chair called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m.

Dan Brazo stated one reason for having this special meeting with regard to the Ad-Hoc Women's Committee is to address if the Women's Committee should be an Ad-Hoc Committee or a Standing Committee on the Staff Advisory Council. The Council reviewed the Ad-Hoc Staff Committee on Women's Issues Recommendation.

*Council members addressed the first issue with a discussion.

Sue Baum-Lentine made a motion that the committee would be an ad-hoc committee of the Staff Advisory Council for a period of one year. After one year the Staff Advisory Council would review the Staff Committee on Women's Issues to determine if it wishes to make the committee a standing committee of the Staff Advisory Council. Chuck Klein seconded the motion. A vote was taken and all members present were in favor of this motion, no one opposed.

The Council entertained a vote that all members of the Women's Committee must complete at least one year of employment at the University and be regular full-time or part-time non-exempt employees. A vote was taken and 18 Council members were in favor and 2 members were opposed.

Rachel Boyd made a motion that #3 under the Recommendation read as follows: The committee would be made up of the following:
6 Staff Advisory Council members (to be determined by the Staff Advisory Council)
6 Additional members to be chosen from among volunteers among non-exempt employees.
The motion was seconded by Phyllis Campbell. A vote was taken and 19 members were in favor, no one opposed and 1 abstained.

Some minor changes were made with regard to wording in the recommendation by the Council members. The recommendation will be updated and communicated to all non-exempt staff early this fall.

The drawing of the names of volunteers to serve on the committee will be made at the October 9, 1997, Staff Advisory Council meeting.

The Staff Advisory Council Election Committee will contact the nominees to confirm their desire to serve as a volunteer on the Ad-Hoc Staff Committee on Women's Issues.

Scott Uekert made a motion to pass the Ad-Hoc Committee on Women's Issues recommendation including all the recommended changes. Rachel Boyd seconded the motion. A vote was taken and all Council members present were in favor.

Jennifer Schafer made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 2:15 p.m. Sue Baum-Lentine seconded the motion. A vote was taken and all Council members present were in favor.

The next regularly scheduled meeting is Thursday, July 10, 1997 at 1 p.m. in the Notre Dame Room of the LaFortune Student Center.